Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing school policy aligned with the School's Mission Statement. In addition, the Board sets the financial direction of the School's yearly operation, future development, and long-term well being of the School. The Board is not involved in the day to day running of school operations nor is it involved in the admissions process.

Each Trustee gives a tremendous amount of their time on behalf of the School, and does not receive compensation or tuition reimbursement for their service.

The Board is made up of sixteen members who are chosen from past and present parents, alumni, and people whose expertise is of value to the School. The Head of School serves as an ex-officio member. Each elected trustee typically serves three, three-year terms.

Each Trustee serves on at least two committees, which meet anywhere from two to five times a year. In addition, there are four full Board meetings. The committees of the Board are as follows:

  • Academic & Diversity
  • Advancement
  • Audit
  • Buildings and Grounds
  • Committee on Trustees
  • Executive
  • Finance
  • Investment


List of 6 items.

  • President and Chairperson

    Daniel Levin
  • Vice President

    Nanci Rascoff
  • Treasurer

    Dan Ross
  • Secretary

    Stephanie Smooke Praw '88
  • Trustees

    Adam Checchi '89
    Premal Desai
    Roxanne Diaz
    Ruth Furst
    Jane Gering
    Stacey King
    Nnamdi Lowrie
    Eric Reiter
    Craig Vaughan
    Lindsay Weinstock
    Caroline Wittcoff
    Hannah Yuen
  • Ex-Officio

    Rose Helm

The John Thomas Dye School

11414 Chalon Road
Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone: (310) 476-2811

Located In Los Angeles, CA, John Thomas Dye is an independent school for grades K-6. Students benefit from a challenging academic program, fine arts, competitive athletics,  and a wide selection of extracurricular activities.

The John Thomas Dye School admits students of any race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the School. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or national and ethnic origin in the administration of its educational policies, admission policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic or other school-administered programs.